Shakeel Ahmed Junejo
On: September 17, 2019
Shakeel Ahmed volunteers with the Galway Anti-Racism Network.

Tell us a bit about yourself? My name is Shakeel Ahmed, (surname Junejo).  I’m 28 years old from Pakistan. I’m here in Galway nearly 4 years, I have four brothers and one sister and all of my family are in Pakistan. My hobbies are reading books, playing games and social work in the community.

When did you start volunteering ?
I started in 2016

Why did you start to volunteer?
I started to gain some experience for myself and to learn important things from the community and other volunteer members

What role are you currently volunteering in and can you tell us about it, what are your duties, hours, training, how long you’ve been doing it etc
I’m currently volunteering with Galway Anti Racism Network and my role is Cultural Member.  My duty is motivate the community and the public about culture, telling them about cultural things such as food, dance and much more.

What is the best thing about volunteering in your own opinion?
For me, volunteering  is important as I learn more things about different roles and duties and difficult jobs and meet other volunteer members from different back grounds.

What would you say to someone who was thinking about starting volunteer work?
I would say that volunteer work is good to do as you will learn more about activities and connection with community.  It is also helpful for the future – I was recently nominated for the ten outstanding young persons award 2019 because of my volunteer work.